Nuggets’ Nikola Jokic wins 2021-22 Kia Most Helpful Participant award

The Nuggets heart wins his 2nd straight Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant award.

NEW YORK –Denver Nuggets heart Nikola Jokić has been named the 2021-22 Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant, the NBA introduced at this time.

That is the second Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant award for Jokić, who additionally received the consideration final season. He turns into the thirteenth participant to win the award in consecutive seasons, becoming a member of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Giannis Antetokounmpo, Larry Fowl, Wilt Chamberlain, Stephen Curry, Tim Duncan, LeBron James, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Moses Malone, Steve Nash and Invoice. Russell.

Jokić acquired 875 factors (65 first-place votes) from a worldwide panel of 100 sports activities journalists and broadcasters. Philadelphia 76ers heart Joel Embiid completed in second place with 706 factors (26 first-place votes). Milwaukee Bucks ahead Giannis Antetokounmpo completed in third place with 595 factors (9 votes for first place), adopted by Phoenix Suns goalie Devin Booker in fourth place with 216 factors and Dallas Mavericks goalie Luka Dončić at fifth place with 146 factors. Gamers acquired 10 factors for every vote for first place, seven factors for every vote for second place, 5 factors for every vote for third place, three factors for every vote for fourth place, and one level for every vote for fifth place.

The nuggets journey 5,600 miles to Sombor, Serbia to current Nikola Jokic together with his 2021-22 Kia MVP award.

That is the primary time that the highest three and 4 of the highest 5 to vote for the Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant award have been worldwide gamers, with Jokić (Serbia), Embiid (Cameroon) and Antetokounmpo (Greece) together with the primary three. and Dončić (Slovenia) becoming a member of them within the high 5. Jokić is the second European participant to win the award greater than as soon as, becoming a member of Antetokounmpo, the MVP of the 2018-19 and 2019-20 seasons.

In his seventh NBA season, Jokić averaged 27.1 factors, 13.8 rebounds, 7.9 assists, 1.47 steals and 0.85 blocks per sport, setting profession highs in each class on the exception of assists (second highest). Jokić, who performed 74 video games and averaged 33.5 minutes, ranked sixth within the NBA in factors, second in rebounds, eighth in assists, twelfth in steals and thirty third in blocks per sport. He led the league in complete rebounds (1,019) and complete defensive rebounds (813). His career-high 58.3 area objective proportion was the eighth-highest within the NBA.

Jokić, 27, grew to become the primary participant in NBA historical past to document not less than 2,000 factors, 1,000 rebounds and 500 assists in a season and the primary participant to common not less than 25.0 factors, 13, 0 rebounds and 6.0 assists in a season. He led the NBA in triple-doubles with 19 and double-doubles with 66, each single-season information for a Nuggets participant.

Jokić earned his fourth straight NBA All-Star choice and second straight All-Star begin. He was twice named NBA Kia Western Convention Participant of the Month (January and March/April) and NBA Western Convention Participant of the Week (January 24 and April 4).

Try Kia’s Most Helpful Participant Nikola Jokic’s greatest moments from the 2021-22 season with the Denver Nuggets.

Behind Jokić, the Nuggets (48-34) certified for the NBA Playoffs offered by Google Pixel for the fourth consecutive season. As Denver tried to clinch a late season playoff berth, Jokić averaged 35.7 factors, 16.3 rebounds, 7.4 assists and a pair of.14 steals in his final seven video games.

The Nuggets chosen Jokić with the forty first total choose within the second spherical of the 2014 NBA Draft. Final season, he grew to become the least drafted participant to win the Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant award, aside from three-time winner Moses Malone, who was not chosen within the NBA draft.

Jokić will obtain a special-edition seventy fifth Anniversary Memorial Trophy at this time to have a good time the consideration, along with the Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant Award trophy, which he’ll later obtain. The commemorative trophy, consisting of a strong crystal basketball, options the NBA 75 emblem laser engraved and suspended from its heart.

Voting outcomes for the 2021-22 Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant Award are under. The ballot was compiled by unbiased accounting agency Ernst & Younger LLP.

A year-by-year listing of Kia NBA Most Helpful Participant Award winners:

• 2021-22 — Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets (Vote)

• 2020-21 — Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets (Vote)

• 2019-2020 — Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks (Vote)

• 2018-19 — Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks (Vote)

• 2017-18 — James Harden, Houston Rockets (Vote)

• 2016-17 — Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma Metropolis Thunder (Vote)

• 2015-16 — Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors (Vote)

• 2014-2015: Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors

• 2013-2014: Kevin Durant, Oklahoma Metropolis Thunder

• 2012-13: LeBron James, Miami Warmth

• 2011-12 – LeBron James, Miami Warmth

• 2010-2011 – Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls

• 2009-10: LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

• 2008-09 – LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers

• 2007-08: Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers

• 2006-07 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

• 2005-06: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns

• 2004-05: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns

• 2003-04 – Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves

• 2002-03: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

• 2001-02: Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs

• 2000-01: Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1999-00: Shaquille O’Neal, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1998-99 – Karl Malone, Utah Jazz

• 1997-1998: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1996-97 – Karl Malone, Utah Jazz

• 1995-1996: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1994-1995: David Robinson, San Antonio Spurs

• 1993-1994: Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston Rockets

• 1992-1993—Charles Barkley, Phoenix Suns

• 1991-92: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1990-91: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1989-1990: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1988-89: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1987-88: Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

• 1986-87: Magic Johnson, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1985-1986: Larry Fowl, Boston Celtics

• 1984-1985: Larry Fowl, Boston Celtics

• 1983-1984: Larry Fowl, Boston Celtics

• 1982-83 – Moses Malone, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1981-82 – Moses Malone, Houston Rockets

• 1980-81: Julius Erving, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1979-80 – Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1978-1979: Moses Malone, Houston Rockets

• 1977-1978: Invoice Walton, Portland Path Blazers

• 1976-1977: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1975-1976: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Los Angeles Lakers

• 1974-1975: Bob McAdoo, Buffalo Braves

• 1973-1974: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

• 1972-1973: Dave Cowens, Boston Celtics

• 1971-1972: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

• 1970-1971: Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Milwaukee Bucks

• 1969-1970: Willis Reed, New York Knicks

• 1968-1969 – Wes Unseld, Baltimore Bullets

• 1967-68 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1966-1967: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1965-66: Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia 76ers

• 1964-1965: Invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1963-1964: Oscar Robertson, Cincinnati Royals

• 1962-1963: Invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1961-62 – Invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1960-61 – Invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1959-1960 – Wilt Chamberlain, Philadelphia Warriors

• 1958-1959 – Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks

• 1957-1958: Invoice Russell, Boston Celtics

• 1956-1957: Bob Cousy, Boston Celtics

• 1955-1956 – Bob Pettit, St. Louis Hawks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.